Potential client wants shift from other developer to me. Current domain transfer?

I have a potential client that wants to get a new website for his business. He has an existing website with another developer that he doesn’t want to continue with. His previous developer is the one that registered his domain name under his own (the developers) name. Now if I was to take over, how do I go about getting that domain name and the email address with that domain name back?

Also, I’m new to this email address thing. How do you get an email like the one he already has i.e something like info@mycompany.com instead of mycompany@gmail.com and how much do you generally have to pay for that?

Ideally your client needs to get the domain registrant details updated so they are correct, this include the admin and technical details as well. Once that is done they should then have control over the domain. All decent developers will just do this but some developers will make life difficult - suggest you tell you client to ask the other developer to hand control of the the domain and see how it goes.

For email addresses you can set these up inside the web hosting control panel.