Practical Use of XML

Hello,

I am looking for this on the internet since the last six hours but of no use…

I want to know how XML is of any use…

I know it helps to organize data/content. I know information stored with XML helps in showing the information in any format - on a web page, or in MS-word, or in a database, etc.

But such words/statements does not make things clears…‘for me’…

I want to see an example…Could anyone help??

:confused:

Sitemaps for websites can be in XML format. I have a Google map which converts custom locations held in a database into flags on the map via XML.

They are more for making the data clear for machines to read, rather than ‘for you’, but humans should be able to understand the format too, so it can work for both. The data can be presented in a more human friendly way by software. For example KML files are XML, mapping programs like Google Earth read the data and display it in a way humans understand.

Hi,
i’m pretty new to xml myself and from my very limited understanding the advantage with xml seems to be that it is a source of data that can be accessed by other people. Hopefully this is correct in my thinking…

If you have a mysql or MSsql database no-one outside of your website can access that database directly. So if you have a list of restaurants for example you can output that from your database on a php webpage but you can’t easily share it like that. If you want someone else to be able to access that information to use on their website without having to copy and paste each time you could output your data to an xml page. They can then link to that xml page and interrogate the information and use what they need. If it changes on your site it automatically updates on their site.