Probably not the first with 500 internal server error

Hello, quick introduction so you understand what I’m dealing with:
I’m a second year college student in Belgium, mostly interested in webdesign. I have to create a php project (I do love php) and I had had the choice between using the school’s server (ftp) or my own server (ssh). So I chose mine. For this project, I would need an apache server, configured it, it works for what I want to do: local testing.

Now my problem (after an hour of google, I decided to take my chance and make a post here):
I have to use .htaccess for my project to rewrite the urls. Pretty basic stuff for you server guys probably. Now we got a script from school for the .htaccess file:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -s [OR]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -l [OR]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteRule ^.*$ - [NC,L]
RewriteRule ^.*$ index.php [NC,L]

first problem I had was that the apache server didn’t recognize this file because I didn’t allow rewriting it. So I googled a bit, and changed my config:
content:

<VirtualHost *:8080>
ServerAdmin Brent
ServerName **************
DocumentRoot /var/www/web
        <Directory /var/www/web>
                Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
                AllowOverride All
                Order allow,deny
                allow from all
        </Directory>
        ErrorLog /var/www/web/error.log
        CustomLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/accessregistrationpage.log combined

</Virtualhost>

the changes I made: I set AllowOverride All, in stead of AllowOverride None
I also noticed that in the default file, this directery was also listed there, also having the AllowOverride option. Now I changed this too in the first place, but after testing if it worked without it, I changed it back to AllowOverride None (while restarting the apache server between the changes)

This “worked”: in stead of getting an error “this URL does not exist” I got another one and now I’m pretty stuck: