Problems connecting PHP to MYSQL

I am brand new at learning PHP and am using Kevin Yank’s book “Build your own database driven websites using PHP and MYSQL”.

I am now at the section of the book that explains how to connect MYSQL to PHP and am stuck at the mysqli_connect function.

I receive the following message when trying to execute the PHP file:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysqli_connect() in C:\Program Files (x86)\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\htdocs\connect\index.php on line 2.

I’ve doubled check the php.ini configuration and it all appears correct.

Here’s my code specifically

<?php 
        $link = mysqli_connect('localhost', 'root', 'mypassword');
        if (!$link)
        {
            $output = 'Unable to connnect to the database server.';
            include 'output.html.php';
            exit();
        }
        if (!mysqli_set_charset($link, 'utf8'))
        {
            $output = 'Unable to set database connection encoding.';
            exit();
        }

if (!mysqli_select_db($link, 'ijdb'))
        {
            $output = 'Unable to set database connection encoding.';
            exit();
        }

$output = 'Database connection established.';
        ?>

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Your server does not have the mysqli extension enabled. Either adjust your configuration to enable that extension, or use the base mysql extension instead.

Thanks for the reply. I checked the configuration of the extensions and it appears that I do have the mysqli extension enabled. Here is exactly what it looks like:

;extension=php_bz2.dll
;extension=php_curl.dll
;extension=php_dba.dll
;extension=php_dbase.dll
;extension=php_fdf.dll
;extension=php_gd2.dll
;extension=php_gettext.dll
;extension=php_gmp.dll
;extension=php_ifx.dll
;extension=php_imap.dll
;extension=php_interbase.dll
;extension=php_ldap.dll
;extension=php_mbstring.dll
;extension=php_exif.dll
;extension=php_mcrypt.dll
;extension=php_mhash.dll