Problems installing Rails on Heroku

Newbie here. I’m having difficulty installing Rails on Heroku following the instructions at https://devcenter.heroku.com/articles/getting-started-with-ruby#introduction. I’ve installed Rails on my Mac, but when I try to install Bundler per the initial step, I get the following:

WARNING: Installing to ~/.gem since /Library/Ruby/Gems/1.8 and
/usr/bin aren’t both writable.
WARNING: You don’t have /Users/nicolefreed/.gem/ruby/1.8/bin in your PATH,
gem executables will not run.
ERROR: Error installing bundler:
bundler requires RubyGems version >= 1.3.6

I’ve just installed the proper version of Rails (twice, actually) for my OS, which is 10.6.8 (don’t ask why I’m using an older system, and no, I can’t update at this time :slight_smile: ), so I don’t understand why the Bundler installer is telling me I don’t have the proper components in the proper places, when I’ve supposedly just installed them?

It seems you are using the system Ruby that ships with OS X and that is installed outside of your user directory.

So you can:

• Install gems system wide by doing sudo gem install gemname, or
  • Add the bin directory to your PATH by doing this in ~/.bash_profile PATH=$PATH:/Users/nicolefreed/.gem/ruby/1.8/bin export PATH

After that, you need to update RubyGems, as per this message:

Reference:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13886835/just-installed-sass-on-osx-what-is-this-warning-you-dont-have-users-orio

1 Like

Thanks. Where do I find the names of the gems I need to install? I’m new to all this.

Also, I see no such directory or file as .bash_profile. What now?

Not sure what you mean.

I don’t have a MAC, but on Linux, the .bash_profile equivalent (.bashrc for me) is a hidden file in your home directory.