Profit percentage with client's website?

Hi everyone, of of my customer offered me an idea, currently he is doing well on amazon(more than $10,000 per month in sale, with not that many product), and wants to do his own website. He asked me if I’m interested taking over the whole website not just as a project, but as a long term partner, which means, I will do whatever I think will benefit the website in programming, design, and maintenance. He asked me if I want to do it with a fixed rate monthly or a profit share in revenue.

I have no experience in this kind work. Usually, I build the site, and if client ask for new task, I will just bill for the new work. Looks like he wants me treat the website as my own business, and invest as much as possible to bring more potential in this eCommerce business. I really dont know how much work will be involved in this case, very hard to estimate.

Have anyone had experience like this? any opinions?

Thank you so much!

When considering any kind of partnership deal, there’s really only one criterion that matters: How well you relate with the other guy.

Do you feel that you can trust him to act with integrity and honesty? Can you communicate with him? Do you respect his technical and business abilities? Does he hold you in the same high esteem?

If you can answer Yes to this type of question, the venture has at least a chance of success. You will still need to evaluate his proposals carefully, and take professional advice where necessary. But the signs are good.

If not, be very cautious.

As for whether to go for a fixed-price or a profit share, that depends entirely on what level of risk you are willing to take. With a profit-share, you could end up with a much higher income. Equally, you could wind up with nothing. So you need to ask yourself how much you can afford to lose.

Hope this helps,

Mike