Protecting Myself as a Subcontractor

I’ve been working as a Freelancer/Subcontractor for about 3 years. While I’ve had some direct clients, about 90% of the work I’ve done has been as a Subcontractor. During this time I’ve learned some painful lessons but in all, I’ve been very fortunate to subcontract for mostly descent companies.

That said, I have a question about what is considered standard procedure for subcontractors; and of course it deals with pay. While I’ve been fortunate to not work for anyone who pulls the “pay if paid” routine, the companies I’ve worked for have differing subcontractor payment policies. For instance, Company A wanted invoices on the first and third Thursday of the month and checks were cut and mailed the next day. Company B operated on a “pay when paid” policy but if the originating client hadn’t paid by the 120th day the company would pay the invoice out of pocket.

While both way have their merits, the reasons for the differing approaches had more to do with the individual company’s structure than philosophy. Company A is a web development company that has a more steady cash flow, so we could get paid more consistently albeit it at a lower rate. Company B is a 1 - man operation that does software development. So, while Company B pays more irregularly, they pay at an hourly rate that is almost 3X higher than Company A.