Quick question css pro's n guru's

Ok I am new to css but understand what I am doing so far but I am now just wondering if I can set a percent such as 99.6% for the width of my div? If so will it look different in different browsers?

That’s all I was wondering.

Also I am still running IE6 and my pings don’t work I get a white BG. I know there is a fix for it on google but I am wondering do a lot of people still use IE6? If so should I use the fix I found on google or am I safe just leaving my code the way it is and upgrade my IE broser to IE7?

[Non-expert view:]
It’s fairly safe, although different browsers may behave slightly differently in deciding how many pixels that actually represents. When it represents fractions of pixels (which will be most of the time) some browsers may round up and others down, so the results won’t be exactly the same, I wouldn’t think.

Hey Ralph thanks for the quick reply. What about IE6? Do you think many people out there still stuck on IE6?

Ah, OK, you must have added that while I was replying. There are stats on how many people still use IE6. I ignore it altogether now, but some people can’t afford to. I don’t know what you mean about pings not working.

Ok well I am using a transparent ping and IE6 doesnt support transparent ping images. There is a fix for it I guess I am just going to use the fix. Thanks for the quick replies Ralph. have a great night. Vinny

O, I had no idea you were talking about PNG images. (Pronouncing it as “ping” is one thing, but … :p)

You do need one of the many fixes for IE6 if you are using a transparent .png. Or you could just serve up a non-transparent image for IE6, which is my preference. As far as I’m concerned, IE9 sounded the final death knell for IE6 … even though those on XP can’t use IE9. They can at least use IE7 in most cases.

(Pronouncing it as “ping” is one thing, but … )