Rails on Windows

Hello,

I’m a bit new in Rails development. Just want some advise if I can just use Windows for Rails development or probably switch to Linux. Been having a hard time setting up Rails on Windows. Thanks in advance.

It’s certainly possible to use Windows for Rails development. Check out http://rubyinstaller.org/ to get you started; it’s probably the easiest way to get Ruby and Rails on a Windows machine.

There are probably advantages to using some flavor of *nix but RubyInstaller should work fine.

1 Like

Yes, I have 2 Ruby’s, one installed using the msi, the other in VirtualBox

Last I knew there were supposedly some differences between Windows and *nix flavors (other than speed).

But I think for learning purposes the Windows flavor would be good enough for starters.

Once you get more advanced though I think it would be wise to go the VM route just to be more sure that what you code locally won’t break moving it to live.

Unless of course you have a *nix available for use now, if you do I wouldn’t bother with Windows and use that straight away.

1 Like

Installing and managing a ruby based workflow on Windows is a painful existence. Therefore, I would highly recommend using a virtual machine with a true linux environment. A VM can be easily set-up using puphpet. In setting up the VM one would merely disregard any packages like PHP and Apache that are unnecessary.

1 Like

Thanks for the inputs, guys. Just another thing, if I would be going into a full time Rails developer, would it be best for me to put in a dedicated machine using Ubuntu than Windows?

Having only Windows I can’t be sure, but from what I understand it would save you from a lot of the aggravation and pain involved with running Ruby on Windows

If you are planning on being serious about it (more than just for learning for now) not based on what I know first-hand but from what I’ve heard from many I’d have to say yes.

1 Like

Got it. Thanks!