Re: Becoming A Web Designer

If you don’t have any qualifications and you want to change career to Web Design in a professional sense. How do you go about it? I’d love to be designing user interfaces for a living how does one go about with this? I know that Team Tree house offer a lot of courses and tutorials, is this a good route to go through. I’m self-taught in Graphic Design and I’ve been teaching myself for decades as it’s a hobby but I’ve found it very difficult to break into it.

Web design might be a little easier to break into. So do some intensive learning, and then find people to do websites for—perhaps starting with friends, family and connections. Or just do one for yourself, at least. Then you could go to local business meetups etc. and find work that way. Plenty of people need a website.

Build up a portfolio. Whether it’s projects you’ve done for friends/family, or practice projects based around a fictitious company, you just need a good compilation of your best work to impress potential employers.

To get anywhere you need to get stuck in and learn the basics first: HTML, CSS, Accessibility, Usability - learn and practice till you do it without thinking.

I agree with what it’s been said.

You’ve learned because you enjoyed it and had fun with it. And that’s great. But, even if you know a lot, in this world you will have to go on learning… forever!

Not only to keep on improving as a designer but also you need to learn about business

So, yep, keep on learning and start to create a website, something that you can show. It could be yours (why not? You should have your own website)

When you have something to show, things are easier. Fake companies could be good too.

Doing a real project (whether it is your own web page or some fake companies) will show you the problems that you could be facing with a real client. Even if you will not code it yourself, and you need help for that… do it!