Refining a Text Resize script

I was interested in writing a small script that can offer buttons for increasing and decreasing text size. This is just a learning exercise (I’m a noob). I Googled scripts for this, but all of them were obtrusive. I’d like to make this unobtrusive, but also as efficient as possible. I’ve modified this script to make it unobtrusive, and it works, but I suspect this could be done a lot better.

<!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en"><head><meta charset="utf-8"><title>TextResize</title>

<style media="all">
body {font: 100% serif;}
.buttons span {display: inline-block; padding: 20px; background: #f7f7f7; cursor:pointer}
.buttons span:hover {background: orange;}
.buttons span:focus {background: green; outline: none;}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<p>This is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text this is text</p>

<script>
var d = document;
var div = d.createElement("div");
div.setAttribute("class","buttons");
var spanBig = d.createElement("span");
spanBig.setAttribute("tabindex","0");
var bigText = d.createTextNode("Bigger");
spanBig.appendChild(bigText);
var spanSmall = d.createElement("span");
spanSmall.setAttribute("tabindex","0");
var smallText = d.createTextNode("Smaller");
spanSmall.appendChild(smallText);
div.appendChild(spanBig);
div.appendChild(spanSmall);
d.body.appendChild(div);

spanBig.onclick = function() {
	resizeText(10);
}

spanSmall.onclick = function() {
	resizeText(-10);
}

function resizeText(multiplier) {
    if (d.body.style.fontSize == "") {
        d.body.style.fontSize = "100%";
    }
    d.body.style.fontSize = parseFloat(d.body.style.fontSize) + multiplier + "%";
}

spanBig.onkeypress = spanBig.onclick;
spanSmall.onkeypress = spanSmall.onclick;
</script>

</body></html>