Relation between Web & Graphics Design

I have already learnt basics of web design (HTML, CSS, JQuery). It is true that there is a blood relation between Web Design and Graphics Design ;).

I am a hobbyist web designer, means not professional. I have seen that in every background of eye pleasing web design, there is a good dozen of work for graphics using Photoshop, Illustrator or Inkscape.

But unfortunately, I don’t have the least knowledge about graphics design. Tried few books but none of them were for beginner’s. For example, I tried out “Inkscape: Guide to a vector drawing program”, but it wasn’t surely for beginner’s.

Maybe I have the creativity to create graphics, but not the skills. Is graphic designing really necessary to do web designing? Isn’t there any other way? What can I do to overcome my disappointment? I am only 16 years old, can’t find anything or anyone to help me. I am not even able to create a simple noisy texture or a tiling background, not even an eye-pleasing logo.

Well, I have two option for you.

1. To become a good web designer you do not need to a good graphic designer as there are plenty of website templates available for you to use and those have been designed by professional designer to provide a stylish and friendly look to the website
  2. If you can be a good graphic designer and if you know the basics of web design (html, css) you can transform your design skills onto web, which will allow you to design beautiful websites out of your imagination

You don’t need to be a graphic designer to do nice web design. It’s great to have those graphic skills, but they aren’t necessary. There are plenty of beginner books that teach simple things like adding noise, but you can also just tinker around and find out how to do that quite easily—either just by experimenting with Ps or by Googling the term.