Relationship between SMM & SEO and how to sell these services

Hi. I have been a freelance designer/developer for a little while now. I have had some success doing new site designs & refreshing existing sites for mobile.

However, when I talk to the small businesses who make up my client base, I see most of them baffled by SEO & social media marketing. They all seem to know that having a content strategy is important, but don’t seem to know where to start.

I’d like to branch out into offering services of this type, but I am having trouble nailing down exactly what my “product” looks like. And how to sell it.

I’m thinking of starting by 1) helping my clients identify their primary objectives for their digital presence, 2) identifying their users, and 3) using this information to build a content strategy that encompasses both the website and social media (integrating the two).

I could use some advice from those that have had success in this area. I guess my questions is: Does the above approach seem sound?

I think that is definitely a service that many businesses might need. Often they have trouble figuring out what they need, and thus, are looking for those answers. You have to be able to give them decent backing for your claims, and you have to provide actionable items for them - here’s what you should do for x result, here’s what you do for y result. You should have a collection of resources for things you don’t offer - they want ad placement? You know a service well, or a company. Etc.

Also consider how much variety of services you want to offer as a freelancer. I know when I was freelancing, I began to see patterns fast as to what I enjoyed and what I wanted to do, as well as what made money, and what people wanted.