Removing embedded CSS?

I am new to CSS. I have embedded CSS on a Dreamweaver page. I want to start over because there is a good way to do it.

How do I remove the embedded CSS? Any suggestions?
Is it a bad idea to use embedded and external CSS?
Thanks

You should shy away from embedded CSS because it doesn’t get to be cached by the browser which means slower loading times, and also because if you have a lot of pages with embedded CSS, you have to go to each page when you update it to update the CSS :).

Just create a styles.css page (or whatever you want it named) and place hte styles there (without the <style></style> tags) and then save it. Then call it in the HTML page :slight_smile:

<link href="styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

It’s generally a bad idea to combine embedded and external CSS because they tend to squabble with one another. More pertinently, the embedded CSS overrides the external stylesheet elements, sometimes in ways you don’t want.

I imagine there are times where you need to embed specific CSS elements. It’s never happened to me in my relatively narrow range of design experiences, but that doesn’t mean much. :slight_smile:

yeah, well everyone that has posted so far is right… what they mean is “let this be a lesson 2 you” , lol.

I assume what you mean by “embedded” is is inline, css with each tag you styled (BTW, this DEFEATS the purpose of a style). there is no real easy fix for this , but there is an “easier-than manual” alternative. Use the find replace feature in DW.

search for : “style=” , each time it gives you a match, click out of the search window , and highlight/and delete “style=‘whatever you put here’”, then find next untill you have hit every styled tag.

hope that helps

I tried to help a designer work with CSS via the Dw panels, and seriously I think it would have been much easier just to teach him how CSS works.