Resolution and build of responsive web sites

Hello everyone.

I’m a graphic designer who wants to understand more about responsive web design (as not to waste to much of the time of the guys who are going to implement the design).

I see that some sites content is made to fit within a few specified resolutions, while others are even more dynamic, and change. This site http://foodsense.is/ seems to have five resolutions, this one seems to have three http://www.cacaotour.com/index.php/en/cacaotours, and this one seems to have only two http://2011.dconstruct.org/

So what resolutions should I work within, and is it better to make a design completely fluid, or to make it work within some specific resolutions?

Thanks for helping!

Hi,

It does depend on the site in question and what type of content you have.

In the first example there are lots of images of a fixed width in containers of a fixed width so the only way to accommodate smaller devices is to set breakpoints with media queries and adjust the layout at each screen size. This of course means you need to cater for all device sizes (and landscape/portait orientation). The site works pretty well and looks good as it adjusts but you do get a different layout each time (which I find disconcerting as I’m a continual “window shuffler” and open and close the browser window to various degrees thousands of times a day and I’d rather see a scrollbar - but I’m the only one who thinks that way :). It also means you have to design multiple versions of the page which is also a pain.