Responsive Table Generator Plugin For Wordpress

Hi guys,

-edit forgot link :P-

I’m a self taught web developer who is in the process of creating a free wordpress plugin for people who have trouble creating responsive tables in html5.

why you created it
I’m currently in the process of developing a website for a client and when they asked me to create a plugin for them so they can insert tables that are responsive into the website, I had to think of creatives ways they can easily insert responsive tables. Their website is based around rally racing so timing and results are important for them.

Because their HTML5, responsive CSS were not so strong, I didn’t want them to have to deal with any code for their tables to work, so I created a plugin that would take their CSV files and convert them into responsive html. One of the biggest features of this plugin is you can easily select which columns you want hidden when the screen gets down to tablet size.

I realized more people could make use of this so I decided to create the following plugin from scratch to help the wordpress community.

what challenges it involved
I’m a self taught developer so every new line of code is something I’m constantly learning and improving. Developing wordpress themes and plugins is very new to me so having to read and understand the wordpress api has been tricky but nonetheless very useful.

what you do and don’t like about it
I really like the fact that users can see their table in real-time and select which columns they want hidden, easily.

I don’t like the fact that its very basic in terms of styling and functionality. I want to improve upon the plugin by adding essential features and good to have features such as shortcode generator because currently the table generator outputs plain html that users have to copy and paste into their website. It would be a lot better if they copied a simple shortcode instead.

how you hope to improve it