Responsive web design techniques and best practices

Hi reader,

I’m new to this forum and chose this forum in particular to hopefully call on some experts in responsive web design and HTML compatibility gurus.

I am studying a Master of Digital Design at the moment and am doing a short paper on reviewing Ethan Marcotte’s book on Responsive Web Design. When informing my course convenor about this, he said to be careful with responsive web design as it can have bloated images and be a problem for bandwidth / download times. He said to look into other techniques of responsive web design or alternatives.