Resume Suggestions

Some advice, please? I’ve not job hunted in over 14 years now so I’m a bit out of the loop. I am mainly a designer, currently building out my updated portfolio site, and I realize I will need a “paper” version of my resume to submit. What I am curious about: What if I was to build a resume in a different format as well? Say, InDesign? Kind of to show some design skills as well as illustrate my knowledge of the program. Is that done? Or should I just stick with the old Word Doc resume and website portfolio and leave it at that? Any headhunters or folks with interviewing experience out there who have an opinion or insight? thanks!!!

I am not “headhunter or employer” (far from it). But I agree with you - conceptually - that it is more important to show your skills and creative nature than follow [long worn] tradition. I took that approach: as a software developer I [almost completely] abandoned the ‘traditional’ resume and put my qualifications in a git repository on GitHub. I thought the best way to demonstrate my skills as a developer (and show off come creativity) was as source code.

On the other hand, if you expect to be employed by the typical [stuffy] corporation, the old and tried formal processes will reign. Unfortunately, BEFORE an Art Director who truly appreciates your talent and flair gets to see your work you will need to get past the filter of HR (or a recruiter). I have no fault with HR folks but acknowledge that they DO NOT UNDERSTAND MY INDUSTRY. Of course, they are experts in their field.
For that reason they are left to simply “count the keywords” on a resume.

I hope this has not been to discouraging; it was meant to be ENcouraging, actually.

Best of luck.

Never, ever use any format other than Word (except MAYBE pdf, but that’s iffy) for your resume. Six months ago, I heard about a guy putting his resume in (drum roll, please) POWERPOINT. He’s still looking for a job.