Room reservation system PHP mysql

Hi,
I am a noob in php and mysql, and I am trying to create a simple room reservation system for my school.
I wanted to create a table with the available and occupied hours like this:

However, I am not getting it right.
For each hour I chose to identify with a letter, like:

a->8:00-8:50; b->9:00-9:50; c->10:00-10:50; d-> 11:00-11:50

I’ll get the occupied hours of a certain date in my mysql database like this:

$con = db_connect();
$result=mysqli_query($con,"SELECT * FROM reservations WHERE data = '$mydate' ORDER BY hour");
while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result)){
	$person = $row['person'];
	$room = $row['room'];
	$hour = $row['hour'];
        $convertedhour = converthour($hour); // convertes the letter to correspondent hour
         echo
         "<tr>
          <td>$convertedhour</td>
         <td>$person</td>
         <td>$room</td>
          </tr>";
           }

Now my question is how to put lines when that hour is not occupied?
I’ve tried this:

$con = db_connect();
$result=mysqli_query($con,"SELECT * FROM reservations WHERE data = '$mydate' ORDER BY hour");

$hours=array("a","b","c","d);
$arrlength=count($hours);

while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result)){
      for($j=0; $j<$arrlength; $j++){
		if ( $hours[$j]; == $row['hour'];){ // if it exists in reservation table, therfore is occupied
               $person = $row['person'];
	                    $room = $row['room'];
	                    $hour = $row['hour'];

// How to advance to the next element of row?

} else{ //if doesnt match, hour is available
                $person = &#8220;<a href='add_reserva.php?hora=$hora&mydate=$mydate'>Requisitar</a></&#8221;;
                $room = &#8220;&#8221;;
                $hour = $hours[$j];
                }
          $convertedhour = converthour($hour); // convertes the letter to correspondent hour
         echo
         "<tr>
          <td>$convertedhour</td>
         <td>$person</td>
         <td>$room</td>