Screen Scrapping. Legal?

I’m a website developer who is looking at creating his own startup website. Without giving too much away, the functionality mainly relies on directory information (business names, addresses, telephones etc).

To collect my own data would be a massive task and to save time I am considering using a screen scrapper such as Mozenda (http://www.mozenda.com/). My intention would be to use this type of software on competitor sources and/or large directory services such as www.yell.com to kick start my own project.

I have big concerns about doing this, as I don’t know the copyright/legal implications of using this type of software. As this data is freely available from many print and web sources does this still infringe on copyright laws?

Also: Specific information like you would find in directories (such as detailed business or individual records) may well be covered under data protection laws, if you started reproducing the information outside of a licensed body (if one exists) and posted the information without each of the individuals or businesses express written permission you could find yourself at the end of a lawsuit (I’ve heard of severe fines for making available confidential personal information outside of places where permission was granted by the individual). Perhaps not as likely as being snagged under copyright, but it’s still something you should probably be aware of. :slight_smile:

Dictionaries and encyclopedias do it as well. Easy way to detect copying of your compilation.

Big directories like Yell (and maybe some little directories) ‘seed’ their listings with a small number of fake businesses with working phone numbers and emails that belong to the directory company. They have done this for decades, way back before the internet, ever since business directories like Yellow Pages were first introduced. Rented Direct Marketing address lists are always ‘seeded’ as well, so the list broker can detect unauthorised usage.