Scripts in Head or at end of Document? Pros / Cons

I’m new to JavaScript, and my initial understanding is that it’s better to link to external scripts in the head of the document rather than at the end of the document. There are hassles with <head> links, though, such as having to prevent the script running until the page is loaded.

Often I see scripts linked near the end of the <body> section, which seems to have some advantages.

Would anyone be interested in listing / discussing the pros and cons of both approaches? Is linking to scripts at the bottom of the <body> a bad thing? I’m interested in this not only from a convenience point of view but also from a best-practice angle.

Interested in any replies or links to other discussions. :slight_smile:

I put locally hosted scripts in the head of the document, compressed when they’re any significant size. Minimize the number of files when possible to reduce the number of requests the browser has to make to the server. My reasons for that are:

1. It just seems more tidy to have all the scripts in one place
  2. I usually use a CMS or framework that handles putting the necessary scripts for a page in the head, pasting them into the body of individual pages makes it harder to keep track of them

Externally hosted scripts usually go at the end of the document so that they don’t prevent your page from loading if the external server is slow. This is common for things like web stats / counters and conversion tracking code.

Thanks for the reply, Dan.

In the CMSs I’ve used, it wouldn’t be a problem to have the script links in an include which could be placed at the bottom of a template. But I guess it’s a bit messier.