Search Engine Indexing

Hi everyone,
Our website has 104,000 indexed pages on Google however a good chunk of these indexed pages are empty breadcrumb URL’s with no content on the pages. There is no 404 error or redirect on these pages, just our HTML template without any visible content. Also, when we remove an item from our website it stays on Google and directs to the empty page. I believe this is where the root of the problem occurs. Should we be telling the SERPs to also de-index our pages when we remove items from our website and if so, how can this be done sooner rather than later?

We are using a custom built CMS from scratch. I am not a programmer but I can pass on the information to our programmer who can perhaps put some more work into the breadcrumbs or robots.txt file if that’s what is required to resolve this.

With these empty pages removed from Google’s index we are hoping that the overall SEO will improve on our website too.
Thanks,

I know that you can remove pages from google using Google webmaster tools. You could also use a robots.txt file to not allow search engines to index certain parts or pages of your site.

Is there a way to automate these Google submissions? I am noticing forums out there become indexed within minutes after posting a new thread. When that thread is removed it is also removed from Google pretty quickly too it seems. Is this only because the forum is a high traffic website and Google puts more priority on real time indexing for that website?

I will go about the manual Google Webmaster method for now but hoping to get it automated in the future for instances like these.

The best plan is to try to reprogram the CMS so that requests for non-existent pages get met with a 404 error, and that pages that get removed are given a redirect to a suitable alternative, or are marked as ‘gone’, because as long as they are giving 200 A-OK Google will continue to index them.

Thanks -