Select and print with PHP & MySQL

I am really a beginner with PHP. I have thus far only used it to display a date and for including common components on my sites.

Now my daughter has asked that I let visitors to her site (still being setup) click on boxes (buttons) and when the visitor is finished selecting items, they click print and get a print of what they want in a list format (a shopping list) and maybe also a print of images or PDF files that match their shopping list.

I suspect I will need a temporary way to hold the selections and use that as the print file.

I want to learn more about how to program PHP and use databases, so pointing me to a good book and or example will be a help for me. Since this is something my daughter wants done sooner rather than later, pointing to a pre-made solution will make her happy (I still want to learn.)

Well the printing side of it is rather simple - simply output a page which looks just like what you want the printout to look like, and use JavaScript to prompt the user with print options. PHP has no such ability, as it runs on the server not on the client.

Where are the items coming from? A database?

Jake,

Looks like I have more research for printing. :slight_smile:

As I said, I am a beginner. My thoughts were to have the site visitor click on an item (or a box under the image or text), save the click to a temporary spot (PHP or MySQL). When the list is built, click on a print button and print the list.

The idea is to allow the visitor to click on items to build a printable shopping list.

So is the shopping list going to have to “remember” what has been picked from :

1 a single (long) page

2 several different pages

or

3 several different visits to your site?

If it is 2 or 3 you are asking about “maintaining state”, which can be done in several ways.