I’m new to jQuery and I’m not sure how to make simple show/hide system:

<div id="One"><p>Some text</p></div>
<div id="nav"><a href="#" class="toggle">Toggle</a></div>

<div id="Two"><p>Some text again.</p></div>

<div id="Three"><p>Some text and again.</p></div>

etc.

I want to toggle the div above clicked link (and I don’t mean parent, but the previous div named One, or Two, or Three etc.).

My code so far, it hides ALWAYS the very first div, not the one above. I’ve tried “prev()” and “this”, but I’m not sure how to use them exactly in this case.

(...)
    $('.toggle').click(
    function()
    {      
    $('#nav').prev().toggle()
});
(...)

Well, actually I was digging a few hours and then realized that I simplified example and mine link is in not only in a div but also in a paragraph!

So had to use parent().parent().toggle() (btw is there a shorter way of describing grand-grandparents etc.?).

Sorry for that and thanks for the solution!

About putting scripts in body part - well, great advice. I guess everyone puts $cripts in the head section because… other people do the same! I was never thinking about that…

Are you sure there’s absolutely no difference between $(document).ready in head and a script at the end of the document without this line? If yes, then I’m going to put my scripts at the end, because more functions = less clarity.

If I’m reading the response correctly, it looks like Matt misinterpreted what “.parent” did and wanted to ask a follow up question before actually trying it. It doesn’t look like it failed.

Actually, you touch on a really good question that I’ve never heard an answer to though…

In the “bad old days” before jQuery, I learned progressive enhancement and we had this same issue as well. I was trained to cope with this situation by placing the script elements not in the head tag, but at the end of the document right before the closing body tag. That way all the DOM elements you were working with were rendered on the page.