Sending Credit Card/SSN through email... bad idea?

Ok, I have designed a web site for a client of mine that does Rental property management. She wants customers to be able to apply online for properties, which requires them to enter a SSN and Credit Card info so they can charge them an application fee. Then she wants that info emailed to her. I have the form created, and it emails fine, I just post the data and use an email class to send it all that works well. But I didn’t want to activate it till I got a more experienced opinion on this. I feel really uneasy about emailing that data. I’m using an SSL connection with the script (don’t know how much that will help) but I am really new to php security. I’ve been programming with php for a while now, but I havn’t dealt with any e-commerce or important info such as this. Any tips on if this is do-able or if I should take another route, OR if I should just can it all together and make them pay at the office (which is an option). Please let me know ASAP cause the site is going to be online soon. Thanks in advance!

Joe

Very very very bad idea, don 't do it.

SSL is all fine and dandy but sending them trough email is a nono, as logic_earth says.
In many states, storing the SSN in plain-text like that is illegal. In fact, you should never store/send a SSN in plain-text to begin with.

If your client wants to charge them an application fee, you can either make the client do it manually through her merchant account or setup a payment gateway such as Authorize.net to do it upon form submission. You can also setup Authorize.net to do an AUTH on the credit card, which only verifies it. Your client then has 30 days to CAPTURE the transaction (charge the card).

As for storing credit card information, see this pdf.
Wherever you store the credit cards must be PCI compliant, or you/your client will probably be risking major fines and revocation of her merchant account.