SEO/domain question

Hi. I’m a freelance designer who is just now running into the issues associated with purchasing suitable domains for my clients. Most of my work in the past has been redesigns of already existing sites. But now I have two completely-from-scratch jobs where there is no owned domain starting out.

I am working with Mary Smith, PhD (example). She checked and marysmith.com is taken. So she purchased marysmith.info. I told her that most people don’t even know that they can enter .info after a web address, so it is probably not a good solution.

I checked this morning and msmith.com is available. Am I correct in assuming that .info is a mistake? What about adding “phd” to the domain (msmithphd.com)? This should help with SEO, no?

Thanks in advance. I’m still kind of new to the wonderful world of domains.

marysmith.info would work well.
Think about how people will visit her site. They’ll either see her url on her business card or other papers or simply follow a link on google or on other sites.
Then once they’ve been once, to go back they’ll probably use their bookmarks or just type her name in google, and a .com or .info will be indexed just as well by google, no problem.

So going with the desired domain name with .info is better than an abbreviation using .com???

And how do the engines view the url? For instance, how does it know marysmithphd.com is relevant for the keywords “Mary Smith, PhD”? Without separators, I mean.

I guess this other thread on here has me a little confused as well. It seemed like people were advising that .com is almost always preferable.

What I mean is that the .info is clear and would work well.
But not better or worse than another one.
What is important is the in-page SEO, so it happens on your site’s title, body, etc.
The domain name is not important, only a little bit, very little and only in some cases.