SEO Science or Art?

Hi there,

I am just about to launch an E-Commerce business after 1 year of development time. I have been thinking a lot lately about how I am going to approach the SEO as it is an entirely online company. This company is in a very competitive market sector so I understand that competent SEO must be my gateway to prosperity.

I intend to spend significant time over the next months learning all about it but to date I am just a developer who is SEO-curious. I am aware of the basics so I don’t ask this question from an entirely naive point of view, I just haven’t delved deeper yet so I would appreciate input from those who have.

I would like to ask those with more experience on the forum the following:

Is SEO more of a science that you can learn and master like software engineering?
Can you literally spend the hours online and with the books and tech-talks and achieve a good guaranteed result? Or is it more of an art form where innovators must constantly turn new ticks to keep ahead? Is it brute force or something else entirely?

If this is a science, is online marketing beginning to become dominated by those same corporate forces who rule the non-cyber advertising world? Are they always going to squish smaller businesses underfoot just because they have resources and can afford to pay a team of SEO managers £25k++ a year to spend 48 hours a week working on it.

Am I at a distinct disadvantage because I have to work as a developer and do my business SEO in my spare time?

I understand that the answers here are not necessarily as straightforward as I make out but I must begin testing the water so I look forward to hearing your views

I wish there was a clear answer for that. I would have to say that science is the best description. Better yet, the science of evolution. No one has pinned it down perfectly and it continues to evolve.

Hey thanks for your response trigerphish,