Separating HTML from PHP

Hi All,

I am fairly new to both PHP and programming, but I am making good progress in learning the basics and some best practices (Sitepoint has helped a bit with that). A couple days ago a veteran here - Cups - suggested separating HTML from PHP. This was a different topic, but I was asking about how to get a form to display the way I wanted it to. One of the byproducts that Cups noticed was what I think some PHP veterans call “spaghetti code”
The code mixed PHP and HTML in such a way that it lead to some ugly looking echo statements that I think are hard to code and prone to mistakes. The suggestion was made to “separate HTML from PHP” which I think is great piece of advice, but I would like to ask the experts how they would go about this. I know the answer generally given is to use the MVC model and a good framework. My question is, short of that, what else can be done?
This is a wide open question and has been asked before, but I would love even more feedback.
Thanks ahead for any suggestion

Take a look at http://www.smarty.net/ where you will find a popular templating library that takes care of the separation for you. Even if you don’t decide to use it you will still get ideas as to how it is done.

The bare minimum to separate PHP from HTML would look something like this:

The PHP:

<?php

$link = mysql_connect('localhost', 'myuser', 'mypassword');
mysql_select_db('blog_db', $link);

$result = mysql_query('SELECT id, title FROM post', $link);

$posts = array();
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) {
    $posts[] = $row;
}

mysql_close($link);

// include the HTML presentation code
require 'templates/list.php';

The HTML:

<!doctype html>
<html>
    <head>
        <title>List of Posts</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <h1>List of Posts</h1>
        <ul>
            <?php foreach ($posts as $post): ?>
                <li>
                    <a href="/read?id=<?php echo $post['id'] ?>">