Shifting Career Path

Currently, I am a Web Developer working with php/mysql. Mostly I build WordPress sites that are fully customized.
While I do a very air-tight job with the work I do, I would evaluate my skills as lower-middle. For example, I can do the regular Javascript tasks elegantly (validation, slideshows, light boxes) but have little experience with heavier applications. With back end work, I am competent at regular tasks involved in standard Websites, I don’t have the skill or experience to do hardcore development.

I’m more interested in leaning toward the the softer side of the Web, marketing, UI, product development, architecture, etc… , but I have little experience in these areas. I’m reluctant to spend the money on a Masters degree to start out at the bottom of a new field. Does anyone have any thoughts as to how to shift careers?

Thank you E

Personally, I wouldn’t bother with the masters degree. In this field, what you learn in school and what you do in real life are two very different things.

Probably your best bet is to find someone in your workplace who already does the job you want to shift to. Talk to them. Shadow them. Learn how their work is done. Offer to cover their workload when they’re out of the office. Things like that. Once you feel comfortable that you can do their job, talk to your boss and ask if you can officially be assigned a task in that new role.

Thank you for these thoughts.

bro make the sites that you things thats is the best

???

I have shifted careers for 5 years. You’ll be confuse and terrified at first. In my case, I was afraid that I’ll be left behind by y colleagues. But then one day, I told myself this is what I want to do. I gave myself 2 months to see if I’d be successful in shifting careers, after one month I got a job. I am on the health field shifting to online marketing field. Up until now, I still work online and I’m happy with my work. :slight_smile: