Shopping cart from scratch

Okay, So I have very little background in PHP or JS or anything other than HTML and CSS basically.

Here goes nothing
It seems ive bitten off more than I can chew with my latest project, as I’ve told someone that I would take the time to figure out on how to add a shopping cart to his website. But the problem is ive never built a shopping cart, I have no experience with databases and I don’t know how to code PHP. I am a very fast learner and if I get pointed in the right directions I am positive I can pull it off.

What I need: A shopping car that I don’t need 4-5-6 different programs to operate. Id be more comfortable opening it with Notepad or something similar. If I were to do this step by step. What should be the first thing I do to make myself a shopping cart. Could someone provide me with the basics so that I can do some research on exactly what needs to be done?

Also, (I know im far from this step but) Id like to have a drop down menu to select the product. I know how to make a drop menu… but I don’t know how to point it to a specific place in the Database.

The basics are fairly simple, but if you have no experience with databases I would highly suggest you install some premade software like ZenCart (just an example, I’ve never worked with it and can not recommend for or against it, do your own research to find something that fits your needs).

Anyway, if you were to roll your own, the basics are that you would need

A product admin to add/edit/delete products
Basically this is one or more tables in the database. The products themselves go in one table* and then you’d have another table (optional) for categories. The admin once logged in would then be able to add/edit/delete products and add/edit/delete categories (if needed)

• Unless you’re working with a special case like several different sizes per product which all have a different price, in which case you might need multiple tables.

A cart