Showing and hiding with z-index

Hi, hopefully someone can help,

I have a card at the bottom of my page that when a user clicks, will appear to come out from under the page and move back on top of it.

The first bit seems to work ok, but I cant get it go back under the page.

this is what I have.

$('.card').css({"margin-top":"-150px",}, 1000);
	$('.card').click(function(){	
		$(this).animate({"margin-top":"15px",}, 700, function() {// Animation complete.
			$(this).addClass('ontop');	
			$(this).animate({"margin-top":"-130px",}, 700);
			$(this).append('<span class="close-card">Close</span>');	
		});

});
	$('.close-card').click(function(){	
		$('.card').animate({"margin-top":"15px",}, 700, function() {// Animation complete.
			$(this).removeClass('ontop');					
		});
		$('.card').animate({"margin-top":"-150px",}, 700);
	});

Any ideas?

I know it is quite basic right now, as I am still learning this, but any help is welcome. Also I understand I’d need to build in some ‘fail safes’ like if it is already ontop dont do the animation, etc, so help here would really be appreciated too, thanks for looking.

I’m not sure but it might have something to do with how the browser works out stacking contexts. When you want it to go back under, all you’re doing is removing a class. You might have to explicitly set the z-index for when the ontop class is absent. You probably are only setting z-index for the .ontop state.

Then when the .ontop is removed, the browser can figure out where to put the element once it has a specific z-index value to use.

Thanks for the reply, unfortunatly specifying z-index does the same thing (not send the object back under)

You’re sure you’re specifying a z-index lower than what you want it to be? Also check that it also has position:relative or absolute in both cases.

It’s hard to tell without being able to see it though. If you had a link it would be easier to troubleshoot.

I’ve firgured out the problem but am not able to fully resolve it.