Small claims court

Have you ever taken someone to small claims court for any reason?

If so, was it worth it or was it to much trouble. I’m debating whether I should take a client to small claims court for non-payment.

It doesn’t cost much to file, and you don’t need a lawyer. The other party can file a counter claim against you, but that is not always the case. Do note that just because you won does not mean they will pay up, but they will get a nasty note in their record until it is cleared (preventing them from buying a house for example).

I am not a lawyer, so don’t take this as expert advice.

Yes I have. I would say it was well worthwhile it for two reasons. The first has been to get indisputable proof that I was in the right and to recover the money owed. The second is the self satisfaction of knowing that I haven’t been turned over by some scumbag who had no intention of paying. Once the court makes an order for payment it is your decision whether or not to pursue it in cases of genuine hardship.

No matter how ‘right’ you are you are bound by the state limit for small claims (usually 3 to 7 thousand) and the fact that you can win a ‘judgment’ but no actual monetary award. You need to collect on that judgment if the defendant doesn’t pay up right away, and that can be a hassle. If they don’t’ have any money, for example, you probably won’t get anything.

It’s easy, though, and worth it if you are confident of winning and the defendant has money (that you can somehow get). A judgment allows you to do things like raid people’s bank accounts/assets but there is some hassle involved.

Doing it for ‘satisfaction’ or principle isn’t good business - just do it if the amount of time you think will take is worth the likely proceeds. Otherwise, walk away and go make money elsewhere!