Small task to Test New Programers

I have had some bad luck and bad experiences hiring programmers in the past and I want to find a couple of top notch programmers to work full-time on my sites over the next year or longer. I came up with the idea of sending out a small task to a number of candidates and allow them to work on the same task and then see who comes up with the best solution. Now I need to find a small task and I was hoping people here might assess the situation and let me know what to send out. I have a site that is being developed from the ground up and it will be database driven and the search function will be the core of it all. The site provides access to freelancer profiles that clients can contact and send projects to. My idea is to send out the search function as a task but I’m not too sure that is possible. Any ideas?

Hi

I’ve been through a number of these recruitment processes ranging from quizzes right up to 10 hour development tasks. I think you’re right going down the task orientated route as quizzes test very little real-world skill.

I like the idea of a search task, it means you can send them a database dump and check that they know what to do with it, you need to try and test deeper knowledge than just PHP - keep the explanation vague and see how the interpret, how far they will go (will they add different search criteria, order by etc. or just stick to word based searches). The only tricky thing will be getting the dataset though.

Hm, but you don’t know that they haven’t just come to some forum like this and gotten help with the answer. :slight_smile: It sounds like you may be going too far down market to me. I’m sure if you find a reputable web company in your area (and perhaps ask around for references) you are more likely to get someone good. I come across amazing programmers just through contact with other designers. I’m sure you should be able to get a reliable recommendation from somewhere.