Sole Proprietor or Incorporation?

Hi All,

Starting as a freelancer, I am not completely sure which is the right move, in regards to registering myself.

i) Registering my business as a Sole Proprietor is more economic at the start but has some legal concerns when it comes to liabilities and paying debts.

ii) Registering my business as a corporation has less personal risk (i.e. the business and owner are considered two separate entities), but cost more for start-up/registration.

Does anybody have any experiences or advice they can share on this subject? I have been reading a posts about the Pros and Cons but I am still undecided.

Thank you.

As you pointed out, the big difference is liability.

With a sole proprietorship, partnership, DBA there is no distiction between you and the business. So, if someone sues you, they can go after any assets you own. Also, from what I’ve heard, it’s more difficult to get bank loans as an individual than a company. However, these days the bar is set pretty low for starting a business selling digital goods, so that might not be an issue. A proprietorship/partnership tends to be the easiest type of business to set up.

Setting up and LLC is a bit more complicated. With a LLC, if someone sues you, they can only go after the assets the company owns and (typically) can’t go after your personal assets. The bookkeeping for an LLC tends to be a bit more complex, as there are certain regulations and tax laws that you have to comply with. There are typically two different types of LLCs: C-corporations and S-corporations, and depending on what your goals/needs/requirements are, each has benefits, drawbacks, and specific rules that need to be followed.

Some additional info:

http://www.sba.gov/category/navigation-structure/starting-managing-business/starting-business/establishing-business/business-types

Actually, there are three types of corporations: LLC, C-Corporations and S-Corporations.