[SOLVED] How to enter height in to MySQL data base

This might be stupid but I tried to add height in to the data base in this format 5’3" but apostrophe and the double quote is a special character in MySQL and then I have to display it with the same formatting in the site. I’m not a pro in PH still got lot to learn so can some one show me how to archive this and if any one want I’m listing the function php code.

P.S: I know about the security issues I will rewrite this with better SQL security.

<?php
/**
 * Created by PhpStorm.
 * User: SiNUX
 * Date: 9/13/14
 * Time: 9:44 PM
 */
include_once("hostcon.php");

$name = $_REQUEST["name"];
$niName = $_REQUEST["nicname"];
$age = $_REQUEST["age"];
$bust = $_REQUEST["bust"];
$size = $_REQUEST["size"];
$height = $_REQUEST["height"];
$hair = $_REQUEST["hair"];
$eyes = $_REQUEST["eyes"];
$nAtio = $_REQUEST["natio"];
$dEscrip = $_REQUEST["desc"];
$stdService = $_REQUEST["stdService"];
$othService = $_REQUEST["othService"];

//Adds data from the options array in to one line
$std = implode(", ",$stdService);
$oth = implode(", ",$othService);

//inserting data in to the data base

$newModel = "INSERT INTO `modeldetails`(`name`, `nicName`, `age`, `bust`, `height`, `hair`, `eyes`, `natio`, `descrip`, `stdService`, `otService`) VALUES('".$name."','".$niName."','".$age."','".$bust."','".$height."','".$hair."','".$eyes."','".$nAtio."','".$dEscrip."','".$std."','".$oth."')";

$fireQuary = mysql_query($newModel);
//echo mysql_error();

if($fireQuary){
    header("location:newmodel.php?msg=added");
    exit();
}else{
    header("location:newmodel.php?msg=notadded");
    exit();
}

I think if you switch to PDO, you can get around the quotes problem when using bindParam as the strings are escaped prior to storing.

yeah I thought of that m8 but I really can’t get my head around PDO thinking of doing this in mysqli but first like to get this working.

And thank you for the reply.

$a = $_POST['height'];
echo $a;