Spree Commerce questions

Hello,

I just started a contract job for a client who has previously been using Spree commerce for a relatively large product database (1000+). They are looking for certain design tweaks and addition of certain modules on the site.

Now im a fairly novice web designer, i focus mainly on front end and some php/mysql, so Im finding myself lost in getting started with a plan.

I was just wondering if there are any advanced Spree commerce users on here who can give me some points in the right direction and some answers as to whether or not certain things can be done.

Examples:

1. Are there any html pages that can be manually edited or is all html dynamically generated by the Ruby files?

2. Whats the best way to copy this website and its spree platform onto a practice local server?

3. Would I be better off switching to a more design-flexible e-commerce platform( I can create custom Wordpress themes, and use an e-commerce plugin)?

4. Will I need to know Ruby to make changes to the navigation, or layout of the pages?

ANY help would be appreciated. Thanks!

You must be joking… seriously I hope your joking. That would be like taking a million steps backward.

I’m not familiar with spree but based on the what I do know about rails you will need to know some ruby. That is if you need to change the HTML.

Honestly, you are not going to get very far without learning some things about the command line installing ruby and rails.That is if you would like to set-up a local testing environment. Have you looked at the spree docs?

If those docs don’t make any sense to you than you first need to step back and set-up ruby than rails on your machine w/ the proper gems. That in itself can be quit a task depending on the machine you are running.

I don’t think this is really the job for a web designer not to mention a beginner. To even get started with rails you are probably going to need to dive into some amount of programming and command line fun.