Starting on webdesign

Hi all!
I am completely new to web design, since my professional activity is on a totally different subject (earth sciences and geomatics). But the need to extend my capabilities, especially with WebGIS, has pushed me to start learning the basic tools to build a website.

I begun with the excellent book by Ian Lloyd (Build your own website the right way) which literally opened my mind to HTML and CSS and at present I am practising with some simple static web page.

But my personal project aims at the building of a dynamic website to promote my professional activity, so I will also need knowledge of Javascript, Php and MySQL (or PostgreSQL). So I have just ordered at Amazon “Simply Javascrip” and “Build Your Own Database Driven Web Site Using PHP & MYSQL” by Kevin Yank hoping that they will be enlightening as Lloyd’s book has been.

What I would like to know from some web design expert is: based on your experience, should I start building my web site with HTML and CSS and later (as I get Javascript and Php/MySQL knowledge) add the dynamic content, or is it better to go on learning everything and then start to build the web site?
Thank you
Niccolo’

Hi nicdain. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

Actually, I’d say “neither”. :slight_smile: Your strategy of learning HTML/CSS first, and then getting your head around JS and PHP, is excellent. BUT … you don’t need to wait to build a dynamic site. The thing to do now is to learn to use a CMS (content management system) that has all the inbuilt dynamic functionality already built in. That way, you don’t have to reinvent the wheel (to coin a phrase). There are lots of free ones, and also some great commercial ones. Some common free ones are MODx, Drupal, CMSMadeSimple, Joomla and so on. A nice commercial one is ExpressionEngine (my preferred one, as it’s very well suited to someone who just knows CSS/HTML).