Still confused about the grid in Bootstrap 3

Hi I’m a beginner trying to create my own web layouts in Photoshop that are based on the Bootstrap 3 grid.

I’ve downloaded a few .psd files that mimic the Bootstrap 3 grid so you can based your designs around them.

I’ve also created an html grid using Bootstrap that you can see here http://juanchandler.com/grid-test.html view source to see the code.

My question is why the columns aren’t 70 pixels wide and a gutter width of 30 pixels as is the case with the .psd grids…I’ve taken a screenshot of the .psd grid with my html over the top so you can see how the columns don’t line up. http://juanchandler.com/screenshot3.jpg ie. the red / salmon columns are supposed the gutters but my html columns fall over them.

Hope someone can help.

I’ve never used Bootstrap, so I might be misunderstanding how things are meant to work, but here goes anyway. :slight_smile:

Your columns are not 70px wide because the CSS for them is declaring them at 8.33333%. (bootstrap.css, line 1157, according to Firebug.) So the width of the columns will depend upon the width of the containing element or the viewport.

bootstrap.css line 835:

.col-xs-1, .col-sm-1, .col-md-1, .col-lg-1, .col-xs-2, .col-sm-2, .col-md-2, .col-lg-2, .col-xs-3, .col-sm-3, .col-md-3, .col-lg-3, .col-xs-4, .col-sm-4, .col-md-4, .col-lg-4, .col-xs-5, .col-sm-5, .col-md-5, .col-lg-5, .col-xs-6, .col-sm-6, .col-md-6, .col-lg-6, .col-xs-7, .col-sm-7, .col-md-7, .col-lg-7, .col-xs-8, .col-sm-8, .col-md-8, .col-lg-8, .col-xs-9, .col-sm-9, .col-md-9, .col-lg-9, .col-xs-10, .col-sm-10, .col-md-10, .col-lg-10, .col-xs-11, .col-sm-11, .col-md-11, .col-lg-11, .col-xs-12, .col-sm-12, .col-md-12, .col-lg-12 {
    min-height: 1px;
    padding-left: 15px;
    padding-right: 15px;
    position: relative;
}

Changing padding-left and padding-right to margin-left and margin-right does what you want.