<strong> vs <b>?

I am new to web designing. Struggling with basics.
Does the two tags <strong> and <b> do the same thing?
What is the difference between these?
Also does changing uppercase to lowercase of an html doc change it to xhtml?

<strong> and <b> are for different things, <strong> is for adding emphasis on text content and <b> is for making text content bold.

No, using lowercase markup does not make it XHTML. This is determined by the doctype being used as well as the way the markup is written. One of the requirements of XHTML is that the markup be written in lowercase.

Though it should be noted that you cannot use real XHTML, as IE does not support it. Thus you have to serve it as text/html making it HTML, so you might as well stick to declaring the doc as HTML 4.01.

I am sure smarter members than I can elaborate more accurately than I can! :slight_smile:

The only time the <b> tag is semantically correct is where you are discussing typographics and specifically mention text being displayed in bold or where you are discussing some other field where bold text has a specific meaning to those involved in that field without your having to explain to readers what the bold means.

<strong> may display as bold text in some browsers as its semantic meaning is to apply strong emphasis to the content and some browsers do that by making the content bold. Browsers do not have to do that - you could set your browser to apply strong emphasis by making the content red instead of bold and screen readers apply the emphasis in the way they say the content.

they are kinda the same… just browsers rendering differently.

No they are not - they have entirely different uses and meanings - all they have in common is that browsers often render them the same.

You have it completely backwards.

Isn’t the use of <b> depreciated anyway?