Structuring JavaScript Code

I’ve been a web developer for many years now, yet JavaScript is one of those things I’ve never fully embrassed, mainly because the idea of browser inconsistancies in the content of a programming language really turns me off (the potential frustration is what scares me; HTML and CSS inconsistancies can be frustrating enough). I therefore normaly use a framework like jQuery to take care of cross-browser compatibility. No matter what I use though, there’s always been the problem of structuring the code. Typically, the web apps I create only require minor JavaScript enhancements for basic interaction, etc, so simple procedurel JavaScript works fine, but as I leverage AJAX technologies further, I find myself embedding ever more client-side logic into my pages. Left unchecked I end up with a ball of mud which can be hard to read and maintain.

So, I’m wondering how to best structure my JavaScript code. Typically, the type of JavaScript I write is event-driven like I magine most is. Thus I usually end up with a lot of event handlers. These event handlers can sometimes share a lot of code, and thus I feel compelled to break the logic out into functions or object methods.

Right now I use a Singleton-type object to define common routines. E.g.

App = {
  someProperty: 56,
  someAction: function () {}
}

I usually define all of my event handlers at the top, with my Singleton object defined beneath it. In the ideal world this works, but I often end up a rather monolithic Singleton object which is probably no better than just a pool of functions. I still find the code hard to maintain, and given that the design and behavioural requirements can often changes many times over the life-cycle of a project, I’m hesitant to create any object models to elaborate as they may make future changes even more painful. This makes me wonder how most people structure their client-side JavaScript.