Stuck on web design processes

Hi Everyone,

I realise this may be a common question, or at least, similar questions may be common but I am a bit stuck.

I currently own a copy of Serif WebPlus X4 which I find very easy to use. I am also trying Dreamweaver CS5 trial having bought ‘the missing manual’ book to assist me.

My questions and thoughts are:

1. I like Serif as it’s easy to use BUT:

Will using serif hinder my site’s search engine ranking? I don’t think the serif program uses CSS in the normal way (not that I would know ‘normal’ from any other way but the code looks different to anything Dreamweaver creates)

I am a little wary of tying myself to one program. The Serif program uses its own single file format and you then export the site when finished.

1. It seems Dreamweaver is the industry standard but for a complete novice it is so unintuitive. I mean, in serif I can drag and drop elements on the page. In dreamweaver I can’t even edit a template without everything going haywire and moving. My question about DW is, is it worth persevering with it and eventually buying it (can’t really afford it though) or should I stick with Serif’s WebPlus? or do you know of anything better???

Any advice GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks
Richard

I’ve never come across Serif (but then I tend to steer clear of editors and hand-code all pages as far as possible). If you want to try creating a page in Serif and posting a link to it, we can have a look at the output and see whether it is likely to cause you problems for SEO, accessibility or usability.

Just so you know, if you want to “go pro” your best bet is to scrape drag-and-drop what-you-see-is-what-you-get (WYISYG) editors and learn to hand code. It can be tough at first, but no program on the market gives you the level of control that hand coding does.

Thanks for the replies. I created a site a while ago for my Father using Serif WebPlus. The address is:

Dom?