Switching from full time programming to 1099 contractor?

Hello all,

I wanted to get other software developers’ thoughts on what I was thinking about doing. Just a little bit of background … I’m 29, have a B.S. in Computer Science, have around 7 years total experience in software development (primarily C++ programming but comfortable with C, Perl, and C# as well). I work in the finance industry in Chicago, USA. I am single and have several months of emergency savings in the bank (which I know is a must for contract work).

Based on what I have read (and it’s hard to find topics about this), it seems like I would be a good candidate for contracting work. I have actually done some side contract work in the past for various clients and they were all happy with my work. The problem was that I didn’t feel like I could make enough money to maintain the lifestyle I have right now with my permanent job. I was getting work through sites like ODesk.com or Craigslist. I found out that it was hard to compete with people who were willing to do the same work for much less money in other countries, but I still managed to find a few decent gigs and probably could’ve developed a good client base given time.