Switching hosts, Godaddy sucks. Need some advice so i dont make the same mistake

Hey guys, need some advice in regards to hosting.

I currently have a website which is hosted by godaddy on their shared server and the domain is registered through them also. After just a short time I realized that godaddy sucks and now im looking to change hosts. I also want to upgrade from a shared server to vps.

My site runs on Joomla and functions as a business locator. I am not experienced with servers so I will need it to be fully managed, will need someone who offers great customer support and will need their assitance in the transition process.

• What are some good companies?
  • How much space and bandwith should I get?
  • When would I need to upgrade to a dedicated server?
  • Do I need to register my domain with someone else or can I leave it with godaddy?

I’m considering hostgator but still not sure yet Ive heard some mixed reviews. All I know is that I need to get rid of godaddy.

Thanks for the advice!

HostGator is fine, but they’re not A+ in my book. I’ve been with eApps for years and love their VPS service. The price is flexible and you can upgrade and downgrade your virtual server as you need resources. Note, currently the signup form for VPS is not easily found as they’re pushing their cloud service. If you’re interested in a virtual private server, signup at http://cp.eapps.com/

As far as your requirements? Nobody here will know that unless we manage your site. As your website grows, the number of resources it demands will grow with it. If you’re running Joomla you will need a server with PHP and MySQL, both of which you will find with nearly every hosting company out there.

As far as the domain goes, keep it with GoDaddy unless you have a vendetta against them. You’ll just update the nameservers to point it to a new hosting company. If your set on switching, my favorite is name.com.

Hey Jeff, thanks