Table Join and Overall Design

Hi all,

First and foremost, I’m still quite new to relational database design and PHP in general so any thoughts, suggestions or input is greatly appreciated.

I’m working on setting up a product catalog with three tables: product, product_attributes and product_images which are setup like so.

product			product_attributes 		product_images	
-----------------|------------------------------|-------------------------
id			id				id
item_title		item_id				attribute_id
item_subtitle		section_title			image_name
item_description	section_description		
item_video		sort_order
item_category

A product can have as many attributes as necessary and each attribute can also have as many images as desired. The goal is to output something like this:

ITEM TITLE
Subtitle
Item overview/description

Attribute 1
 - paragraph about attribute 1
 - image1.1, image1.2, image1.3

Attribute 2
 - paragraph about attribute 2
 - image2.1

Attribute 3
 - paragraph about attribute 3
 - no images included

My limited knowledge produced the following query (I’ve just started using INNER JOIN):

$query = 'SELECT ... FROM product_attributes AS t1
	  INNER JOIN product_images AS t2
	  ON t1.id = t2.attribute_id
	  WHERE t1.product_id = 1
	  ORDER BY t1.sort_order';

this is what is returned.

id       product_id       section_title       section_description       sort_order       image_name       sort_order
-------|----------------|-------------------|-------------------------|----------------|----------------|----------------
   1		1	    attribute 1         description of attr1		1	     image1.1		1
   1		1	    attribute 1		description of attr1		1	     image1.2		2
   1		1	    attribute 1		description of attr1		1	     image1.3		3
   2		1	    attribute 2		description of attr2		2	     image2		2
   3		1	    attribute 3		description of attr3		3	     NULL		NULL