Tax question from a freelance web designer

I’m a freelance designer with dual citizenship and I currently live in Turkey but I still have to pay the %15.3 self employment tax even though I don’t live in the US. This is a huge amount. I’ll be buying a smart phone because my current phone is really old and as web designers we need to use phones/tablets etc. to test our websites to see how they look on these devices. My question is, can I claim a smart phone as a business expense and therefore a deduction when I file my taxes?

If you live in Turkey, then you pay taxes in Turkey, and you are subject to the Turkish tax rules and laws. Your citizenship has got nothing to do with it.

I don’t know the details of Turkish tax laws, but I would think it’s highly likely that if you buy a phone for the reasons you mentioned, it will indeed be an allowable business expense. It’s really no different from buying a computer for your business - or, for that matter, a desk.

The only thing you might need to watch for is if you use the phone for personal use as well, in which case there might be a clawback of part of the cost. In other words, only a percentage of the cost would be deductible, that percentage being the proportion of the phone’s costs that is attributable to the business. But you’d have to check the details of that for yourself.

Mike

Gosh…I’m not talking about my Turkish citizenship. I just mentioned Turkey to tell people that I live outside the US but I’m a US citizen and I have to pay US taxes. I don’t pay taxes in Turkey. I’m talking about the US tax laws and I was wondering if the IRS would allow me to list the phone as a business expense.

But you said that you live in Turkey. In that case, you are subject to Turkish tax law. (If you also pay taxes in the US, you might be eligible for double-taxation relief, but you are still within Turkish jurisdiction).