Text in Nested Div Won't Style

I’m a newbie at CSS and Styling. Up to now I’ve done everything in tables. I’m trying to be good and get on board the CSS train but … dang tables were easier. HELP!

I’ve created a nested div and put some text into it with a h1 header assignation. I try and change the font family for that nested div but I can’t get the html to recognize it. I’m using a preformated page straight out of Dreamweaver and I’ve got it attached below. No external style sheet yet, everything on the one page.

Thanks for looking.

I should mention that what I’m trying to do is change the Kiropraktikk First in the topleft div, which is nested inside the top div which is inside the container div. I’m trying to change it to a serif font.

I’m also A TOTAL IDIOT!! I took out the styling that I was trying to do so now there is nothing there. Let me change this to a question of: Take a look at the code I’ve got now and tell me how you would go about styling the Kiropraktikk First so that later I can import the styling into an external style sheet.

Thank you again.

Hmmm, there’s lot of nasty stuff in that file—lits of \ symbols, and a whole bunch of muck before the doctype at the top of the page that shouldn’t be there. Not sure if that’s all appeared in translation or not …

Anyhow, here’s a slightly cleaned up version (with a more modern doctype. Set Dw to a strict doctype by default.)

Also, what you want is something basically like this:

.topleft p {font-family: georgia, times, serif;}
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en">

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>New Norway Template</title> 
<style type="text/css"> 
body  { 
	font: 100%/1.4 Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; 
	margin: 0; 
	padding: 0; 
	color: #000; 
	background: #c56065;