The most secured method to validate an image before to upload it

Hello all,

I am quite new in PHP so I am looking for some advices from PHP experienced programers about how to secure the upload of images.

Thank you

Well, #1 you cant validate something reliably before you upload it. It has to reach your server first :wink: (you can use javascript to try and validate, but what if the person has disabled javascript?)
#2 what security are you referring to here?

Thank you StarLion for your answer.
Maybe my statement was not so clear, sorry for this.

Manly, what i want to do is to implement a mechanism in PHP to upload some images.
The idea is that i don’t want somebody to upload, for example, PHP scripts which can be executed after and hack my website. This is the security i am talking about.

Hope i was more clear this time.

Thank you

You’ll have to upload the file first. When the file reaches $_SERVER[‘FILES’], then you can run a check against it, and delete it if you deem it unfit.

if ($_FILES["file"]["type"] != "image/jpeg") {
header(); //anywhere but here, file will be deleted
} else {

move_uploaded_file(); //where you want
}

I think you’ll find this question is already covered here

Thank you all for you answers, really helped me to understand the mechanism. Now, i will try to implement something and i will come back with a sample.

K. Wolfe’s code does only partial check and it still leaves your site vulnerable because $_FILES[“file”][“type”] is set by browsers and can be spoofed. This is good as the first check but then you should do at least two more checks:

1. Use getimagesize() on the file, check if it was successful and also check the file type returned by index 2 - for jpeg’s it should be equal to constant IMAGETYPE_JPEG - then you can be sure the file is really a jpeg image.