The purpose of abstract methods and classes?

I have been developing with PHP OOP for many years but have never really looked into Abstract methods and classes and something has recently prompted me to do so. However, I really can’t understand the point / purpose of them.

I am not looking for an explanation of how to set them up or use them but an explanation of why and when they should be used as I just don’t get it.

In general they are used in a similar manner to interfaces: They allow child classes to complete missing behaviour.

Here’s a heavily contrived example:

abstract class Mammal {
	protected $legs = array();

public function eat(Food $food) {
		//...
	}

abstract public function walk();
}

class Human extends Mammal {
	public function walk() {
		$this->legs[1]->forward();
		$this->legs[2]->forward();
	}
}

class Dog extends Mammal {
	public function walk() {
		$this->legs[1]->forward();	
		$this->legs[3]->forward();	
		$this->legs[2]->forward();	
		$this->legs[4]->forward();	
	}

}

The base class doesn’t have enough available information to provide an implementation for the walk() method. However, all mammals can walk and this is required behaviour for all mammals. By marking the method as abstract, any child class must provide the missing behaviour. This allows for polymorpism as any mammal must have a walk() method.