This site is fantastic - how have they done it?

Hi all,

Just taken a look at the mobile site at http://bigfishclothing.co.uk/. I’m a newbie when it comes to this - how have they done it?

Thanks for any tips.

Richard

Can you be more specific? All I’m seeing here is a crappy fixed width layout that doesn’t adapt to any of the small screen devices I have. In fact that fat bloated slow mess is EXACTLY the type of thing I’m always talking about when it comes to buggy broken/useless inaccessible websites. From the broken fixed width, bandwidth hogging gee ain’t it neat scripted crap, to the use of px metric fonts on EVERYTHING – laundry list of how NOT to build a website and the “But I can do it in Photoshop” nonsense that’s been making the Internet less useful than it was a decade ago.

I’m not seeing it rendering at all useful in Opera Mobile, Opera Mini, on a iPod touch; it’s just the same useless fixed width garbage I’m saddled with on desktop class machines; which is to say useless on the netbook too.

Mobile version? What are you using that’s showing a mobile version? I’m not seeing it.

It looks cool on my device - but obviously you’ll know more on the topic than me.

I’m unsure of how to create a mobile website, using the same content from the main website. Is it basically a separate stylesheet? How do you determine the width of the device and display the site correctly (in this case, they haven’t).

Richard

what ‘device’ would that be – it’s hard to relate without a frame of reference.

IDEALLY when marking up the page you use semantic markup with obvious containers, then you can use CSS3 media queries to add/remove/refactor the layout for each potential target… with maybe some .js as a fallback, though I really stopped doing that.