Three Divs within a Div

Hi, I’m new to this site, and after much research found this to be the most active one!

So here it goes, if anyone could help me I’d be really greatful, I am new to web design so if this seems very simple I apologise.

I am trying to construct a layout which contains three divs in another div, but I am having problems, this is my html code:

<div id="wrapper">
	<div id="header"> LOGO WILL GO HERE </div>

<div id="nav"> Navigation will go here </div>

<div id="widgetcontainer">
	<div id="widget1"></div>
		<div id="widget2"></div>	
		<div id="widget3"></div>
			</div>  <!-- #widgetcontainter-->
                        </div>  <!--#wrapper-->

And this is my CSS:

#widget1
{
float:left;
width:30%;
height: 200px;
background-color:white;
}

#widget2
{
float:right;
background-color:green;
}

#widget3
{
margin: 0 auto;
background-color:blue;
}

I am finding that they are all evenly spaced within the div, but they do not contain themselves within the #widgetcontainer.

Thanks in advance

Hi, Welcome to Sitepoint :slight_smile:

Floats are removed from the flow so your widgetcontainer will remain at zero height if it contains only floats. You need to contain your floats and the simplest method assuming you don’t need visible overflow is to use overflow:hidden.

#widgetcontainer{
overflow:hidden;
}

This creates a new block formatting context which ensures that the parent encompasses its children (even floated children).

If you need visible overflow then look at the clearfix method of containing floats.

Thanks for the response Paul O’B.

I have input this into my code but I still have the same results, the div widget2 is still overflowing?

Thanks in advance

Don’t worry about this, I have solved it myself.

Thanks for the initial help though

Glad you solved it :slight_smile: